Image

Our CEI Client of the Week is Rebecca Bartlett, Owner of Ceramifix Touch Up Solutions! Ceramifix can be used to fix any tile surface. You can touch up scratches on appliances, furniture, counter tops, bathroom fixtures and more. It is a simple, small product that is a quick and easy fix that anyone can use because no special tools or skills are required.

Image

“My product was born out of my own need. As a military family, we move every few years. I was dismayed, after moving into our current home, that some of the Ceramic tiles in our kitchen had noticeable chips. This must be a common problem because our last home also had chips in the tile flooring. This embarrassed me because it gave the appearance of a dirty floor. This was one of the reasons we did a complete kitchen remodel in our last home. After that experience, I wasn’t eager to relive it in our current home. Removing tile flooring is no easy task. It’s labor intensive and creates an enormous amount of dust. The whole process is time consuming and in our case, the tile in our kitchen in our current home extended into our laundry room, meaning we would be without the use of two very important rooms in our home. With three children, this wasn’t even an option! I knew there had to be a way to touch up these areas and improve the way they looked. I went online and searched for a product to fix my tile, but couldn’t find one. What I did find was that other people were looking for that same product. I began researching and experimenting with my own tile until I found the right material that flowed well, was strong, washable, non-toxic, dried fast, and could be tinted to match popular tile shades.” Thus, Ceramifix Touch Up Solutions was born. Once I touched up my tiles, I wanted to share my solution with the world. With less than a hundred dollars out of pocket I had everything I needed to package my product. I created my own logo, printed my own labels and listed my product online through Amazon.com. I never expected the response I received. With no advertising, orders were coming in. First, one or two a week, then two or three a week and before I knew it, orders were coming in daily. I quickly realized that my product had turned into a business and I needed some advice. Fortunately, that very next week, Kelly Penwell was offering an entrepreneur course for military personnel and their dependents on base. She met with me personally and my relationship with the CEI began. I have turned to the CEI for guidance and their support has allowed me to confidently move my business forward.”

Since debuting in March 2011, Ceramifix has shipped thousands of bottles worldwide. They have also had major retailers request their products. Rebecca says she is taking the next steps in order to make Ceramifix available to everyone at their favorite home improvement store or local flooring retailer. Ceramifix is available in 15 shades that can be mixed together for a custom shade match. Find it online at www.ceramifix.com or purchase through Amazon.com.

Image

Ceramifix is not the first innovative idea Rebecca had, but it was the first that she decided to act on. “I never set out to be an entrepreneur, it just happened. I’ve always had invention ideas through the years but I never implemented them and always regretted it when I would see a similar product come to market later.”

The CEI is very happy that Rebecca decided to expand upon her idea, and we congratulate Ceramifix on all of the success. We can’t wait to see Ceramifix continue to grow in the future!

Image